Starks and Nacey - TRO/Lydia
iTunes / Amazon / Beatport / TTL / Juno

Artwork by Rhek. Mastered by Sammy Bananas.

  1. Steve Starks – TRO
  2. Steve Starks – Lydia
  3. Nacey – Work For This
  4. Steve Starks – TRO (DJ Ayres remix)
  5. Steve Starks – Lydia (Smalltown Romeo remix)
  6. Steve Starks – Lydia (Sabo remix)
  7. Nacey – Work For This (Gavin Holland remix)

Steve Starks – Lydia (Dave Nada Moombahton Remix)

Starks and Nacey are two-thirds of Nouveau Riche, a monthly party in Washington, DC, started in 2006 by fellow DJ Gavin Holland. In 2008, the party was awarded Best Dance Night in the City Paper’s Best of DC issue, and the two have been described by the Washington Post as some of the District’s more prolific DJs. Starks and Nacey are known for their high-energy sets and have shared the stage with the likes of The Count & Sinden, AC Slater, Nadastrom, MSTRKRFT, Blaqstarr, Miami Horror, Scottie B and Eli Escobar to name a few.

“Time Run Out” is their second EP, and their first on T&A Records, run by fellow DC DJ Tittsworth along with DJ Ayres (The Rub, Brooklyn). The title track, “TRO,” is a fat slab of electro house ideal for primetime dance freaks. “Lydia” is a vocal Latin house number, and “Work for This” could best be described as minimal Gypsy club. On remix support, DJ Ayres transforms “TRO” into uplifting dubstep, and Gavin Holland takes “Work for This” to throwback 90s house / Baltimore club territory. Smalltown Romeo (Plant Records) reimagines “Lydia” as electro funk, complete with vocoder chorus, while DJ Sabo (Turntables on The Hudson) builds the same track up to shuffly big room house.